Forest Park and Tuscaloosa!

trp r960....

Well, the season finally got off to a bang in Forest Park. I was unlucky in the breaks and too aggressive given my development, but I was pretty happy about my overall fitness.  What I wasn’t happy about was my brakes on the Stainless Steel Waterford. Indeed, I wound up racing on the old trusty R-33, as the Campy Skeleton’s had developed an inability to control the spring adjustment in back. I’m not happy about that, and that isn’t the first incident we’ve had down here in So. Ill of later generation Campy brakes going to shit (Molteni fried a pair as well). There is simply no excuse for that. Of course, in a drunken rage I ordered a pair of TRP r960s. So far, I have one race on them and they’re good….Still, Forest Park was fun, and it was good to race with Frank Brummer (I totally fucked up the finish, I should have chased harder and gotten Frank up to Gary Dyer and Chuck Pass…..as it was, Frank was 4th in the 50+). And, totally awesome to see Kurt Russell hanging out on the sidelines! Tracy managed to get off with Mikey Weiss, Tim Hall, and Andy Hunsaker, and Big Shark and Gateway did an awesome job making that stick.

I went down solo to the Tour of Tuscaloosa, feigning participation at a professional conference in New Orleans. Lots of driving, but worth it, even just to do the crit. What an awesome event! You should really get this one on your calendar if you can possibly manage it. Huge money in this, and the 35+ category meant that we had three or four guys on the line with Pro licenses….I didn’t really realize that….I raced quite aggressively until I blew up! Still, it was good to be racing at the front in a huge and superfast race. I’m not totally back, but I’m inching upward…

Leave a Reply

