Autumn Floods in the Pine Hills

pinehills

So Ill at its best.....view from Mississippi Levee Road

Ah, Fall in So. Ill. The rains finally stopped, but the rivers are up….I did a solo ride up the Big Muddy Levee and then into the Pine Hills. Unfortunately, I found Scatters Road underwater for about 300 meters. Since it was 60 degrees or more, and I knew it wasn’t too high, I shouldered the bike and trudged through the dregs of the Big Muddy (scattering giant gar and other fish as I went). It just made it up to soak my chamois….but no higher….

I have tickets to Bubba this weekend, so that should be fun. As non-preparation, I did Cedar with  Big Tom and Don. Tom’s thinking about doing the Sat. race in the Alton area, and I think a lot of our people are going up for that (Berto, Chief, Dave…). I can’t go up on Saturday, or I would. The Wild Track guys did a great job with that series! But, I’m only free Sunday this weekend….

 

Leave a Reply

