Q’d

 

Wow, it was kindof hot in KC. Good thing I didn’t try to race bikes or anything like that. Dave and I made the long drive to KC, and it was quite an experience. I loved the courses on both days, I only wish my ah, form, was more suited to the conditions. Normally, I would have had a hard time finding a better race for what little talent I sometimes have–Saturday was a power course, a race of attrition style crit. Sunday was a technical figure 8. I’ve done some of my best races on similar courses. Not this time. Dave did a lot better, and scored almost in the money on Sunday. Danimal took the juniors, and banged heads in the pack on both days in the 3’s.  Darrell Bratton arrived on Sunday and did the 40+.,  while I skipped the early race and did the 3’s (to no avail).

I’ve never done the Tour of KC, since it’s situated on the calendar right between my major professional meetings and our wedding anniversary. But, this year, I’m skipping the meetings, and the race was the week before our anniversary! Too bad the road race was cancelled.

Former Macker and all around great guy Clark Priebe was on hand. Clark’s done some great races at KC, and he was the main man animating the 1-2 crit on Saturday. Totally awesome! Clark caused the main split, and did everything he could to get the win. In the end, he was scored 11th, but I think he may have been 8th…

Great to see Gary Dyer, Dodd Slawson, and Dennis K. making the moves. I’m still overwhelmed by the competition this year. Janne Hammelein and Dave Henderson lapped the field both days in the 40+. 

Dave says I need to take Growaset(R), and become a Cub’s fan.

Update: Congrats to Robert Kron and Justin Armstead for taking big wins in Grayslake!!

Leave a Reply

